ROAR

rock
Friday
13
September 2024
  • Orangerie
19:30
Bota'Carte 18.5
Ticket 21.5
Day of Show 24.5
Buy tickets

Extra information

Tickets on sale 01/03 - 10:00

Listen to the soundscape to your deepest emotional moments

When

Fri. 13 Sep, 2024

Where

  • Orangerie

Doors

19:30

Organiser

Botanique
ROAR

Roar, the solo project of Magic the Gathering enthusiast, amateur (but impressive) chef, and mastermind Owen Evans, channels that feeling of nostalgia we all experience but can never fully place. “Am I trapped inside a movie?” “Did I hear this song years ago in a dream?” listeners of Roar may ask. No, be still your delusions. It’s just Mr. Evans, who has a knack for writing emotive melodies and skillful arrangements evocative of the times of yore. 

In 2006, the year The Devil Wears Prada was released, Mr. Evans began working on some of the glorious, heart-wrenching songs that would ultimately form his epic 6-song debut EP: I Can’t Handle Change (2010). He has since released a second EP, I’m Not Here to Make Friends (2012), and three full-length records: Impossible Animals (2016), Pathetique Aesthetique (2018), and Diamond Destroyer of Death (2021). What will this harmonic wizard bring us next? We must wait patiently as Mr. Evans carefully examines his many extraordinary ideas, stitching them together like an immaculate gown sure to win the approval of Miranda Priestly herself. 

When he is brave enough to play his songs for the public, this bashful songwriter is accompanied by his trusty band of skilled and loyal friends. Inspired by 60s girl groups and early applications of the synthesizer, Roar songs sound like a place where old Hollywood celebrities, grief-stricken robots, and the occasional cheerful elf come together to tell stories about love, pain, and hope. Mr. Evans croons over chromatic basslines, impassioned string arrangements, and wistful synth arpeggios, bringing the listener on a dynamic, surreal journey punctuated by sentimental motifs and playful surprises. In search of an immersive sonic world that speaks to your big feels? Look no further - this humble musician has crafted the soundscape to your deepest emotional moments.

Roar - I Can’t Handle Change
Roar - Christmas Kids

Similar events

Friday
08
Nov 2024
liana
folk, singer-songwriter

Doors

19:30

Where

  • Rotonde
Friday
13
September 2024
Bota'Carte 18.5
Ticket 21.5
Day of Show 24.5
Buy tickets

Extra information

Tickets on sale 01/03 - 10:00

ROAR

rock
Vendredi
13
septembre 2024
  • Orangerie
19:30
BOTACARTE 18.5
TICKET 21.5
DAY OF SHOW 24.5
Achetez vos tickets

Plus d'info

Tickets en vente : vendredi 01/03 à 10h

Entre dream pop et sonorités des années 60, il vous emmène dans un voyage surréaliste teinté de nostalgie

Quand

ven. 13 Sep, 2024

  • Orangerie

Portes

19:30

Organisation

Botanique
ROAR

 

Roar, le projet solo d’Owen Evans (un artiste créatif et passionné de Magic the Gathering), capture à la perfection ce sentiment de nostalgie dont nous faisons tous·tes l’expérience sans vraiment pouvoir le situer. En l’écoutant, on pourrait se demander : « Est-ce que je suis piégé dans un film ? » « N’ai-je pas déjà entendu cette chanson en rêve, il y a des années ? ». Non, ne vous faites pas d’illusions. Il s’agit simplement de Mr. Evans, qui a le don d’écrire des mélodies émouvantes et des arrangements habiles évoquant des temps anciens.

En 2010, Evans sort son premier EP, « I Can't Handle Change », composé de six splendides et déchirantes chansons. Il a depuis sorti un deuxième EP, « I'm Not Here to Make Friends » (2012), ainsi que trois albums complets : « Impossible Animals » (2016), « Pathétique aesthétique » (2018) et « Diamond Destroyer of Death » (2021).

Lorsqu'il a le courage de jouer ses chansons en public, ce timide auteur-compositeur est accompagné de son fidèle et talentueux groupe d'amis. Inspirées par les « girl-bands » des années 60 et les premières utilisations du synthétiseur, les chansons de Roar ressemblent à un lieu où de vieilles célébrités hollywoodiennes, des robots en deuil et quelques elfes joyeux se réunissent pour raconter des histoires sur l'amour, la douleur et l'espoir. M. Evans chante sur des lignes de basse chromatiques, des arrangements de cordes passionnés et des arpèges de synthé rêveurs, emmenant l'auditeur dans un voyage surréaliste ponctué de motifs sentimentaux et de surprises espiègles. À la recherche d'un monde sonore immersif qui parle à vos émotions les plus profondes ? Ne cherchez pas plus loin - ce modeste musicien a créé la bande sonore de vos moments émotionnels les plus intenses.

Roar - I Can’t Handle Change
Roar - Christmas Kids
Vendredi
13
septembre 2024
BOTACARTE 18.5
TICKET 21.5
DAY OF SHOW 24.5
Achetez vos tickets

Plus d'info

Tickets en vente : vendredi 01/03 à 10h