LISTEN FESTIVAL : MARINA HERLOP - LUCINDA CHUA

experimental
Tuesday
26
March 2024
  • Église Notre-Dame de Laeken
19:30
DAY OF SHOW 28.5
TICKET 25.5
BOTACARTE 22.5
Buy tickets

Extra information

Tickets go on sale: 05/12

Listen Festival x Botanique x Église Notre-Dame de Laeken

When

Tue. 26 Mar, 2024

Where

  • Église Notre-Dame de Laeken

Doors

19:30

Organiser

Botanique & Listen Festival
fzefze

 

Since its inaugural edition in 2016, the Listen Festival has established itself as a must-attend event for electronic music enthusiasts in Brussels. The festival will take place in emblematic cultural and nightlife venues throughout Brussels, including here at the Botanique and the Church of Notre Dame de Laeken.

On March 26th, head to the Church of Notre Dame de Laeken, where you'll have the opportunity to attend a concert featuring Marina Herlop and Lucinda Chua in an exceptional setting.

Marina Herlop

MARINA HERLOP

Beyond her classical piano training, Marina Herlop has crafted a wondrous universe where polyphony and folkloric rhythmic cells rub shoulders with enchanting melodies. Her latest album, "Nekkuja," released in October 2023, is a diamond in the rough that deepens her vertiginous universe with sharper tones. Her voice, seemingly from a distant realm, expresses itself in an unknown language, shifting rhythm in a bewildering manner.

Inspired by both 20th-century avant-garde compositions and folk songs, Marina Herlop blends traditional techniques with the melancholic sound of the piano, creating a universe seemingly from another galaxy. Her delicate vocal lines, enhanced by subtle production effects, bring emotional intensity to this cathartic music.

Marina Herlop - abans abans
Marina Herlop : "Miu", "Abans Abans", "Shaolin Mantis" - Eurosonic Noorderslag 2023 - @arteconcert
Lucinda Chua

LUCINDA CHUA

After two EPs, Lucinda Chua is back with "YIAN," her minimalist debut album. Through comfortingly gentle compositions, the cellist invites the listener to take part in a contemplative journey. Her voice, intertwined with intense silences and controlled breaths, weave together a sonic tapestry so sincere and intimate that it immerses us straight into an enchanted, introspective atmosphere.

Both the visual aesthetic and the album’s title deepen this intimacy, “YIAN” being the Chinese translation for "swallow", the nickname given to Lucinda by her parents to preserve a connection with her ancestral heritage. Like the migratory bird, the artist has traveled periodically between different regions, all of which have contributed to the creation of her mixed identity. Through her compositions, Lucinda Chua expresses that part of herself that she cannot describe in words.

Lucinda Chua - An Ocean
Lucinda Chua: Hub Sessions

Similar events

Saturday
30
Mar 2024
sten_x_botanique.j

Doors

18:30

Where

  • Orangerie + Rotonde + Witloof Bar
Wednesday
10
Apr 2024
Julia Holter
experimental, singer-songwriter

Doors

19:30

Where

  • Orangerie
Tuesday
26
March 2024
DAY OF SHOW 28.5
TICKET 25.5
BOTACARTE 22.5
Buy tickets

Extra information

Tickets go on sale: 05/12

LISTEN FESTIVAL : MARINA HERLOP - LUCINDA CHUA

experimental
Mardi
26
mars 2024
  • Église Notre-Dame de Laeken
19:30
DAY OF SHOW 28.5
TICKET 25.5
BOTACARTE 22.5
Achetez vos tickets

Plus d'info

Tickets en vente : 05/12

Listen Festival x Botanique x Église Notre-Dame de Laeken

Quand

mar. 26 Mar, 2024

  • Église Notre-Dame de Laeken

Portes

19:30

Organisation

Botanique & Listen Festival
fzefze

 

Depuis son édition inaugurale en 2016, le Listen Festival s’est imposé comme le rendez-vous incontournable des amateurs de musique électronique à Bruxelles. Le Listen prendra place dans des lieux emblématiques de la culture et de la nuit Bruxelloise et notamment chez nous, au Botanique et à l’Église Notre Dame de Laeken.

Le 26 mars, rendez-vous à l’Église Notre Dame de Laeken où vous aurez l’occasion d’assister au concert de Marina Herlop et de Lucinda Chua dans un cadre exceptionnel.

Marina Herlop

MARINA HERLOP

Au-delà de sa formation de pianiste classique, Marina Herlop a su créer un univers merveilleux où polyphonie et cellules rythmiques folkloriques côtoient des mélodies enchanteresses. Son dernier album « Nekkuja », disponible depuis octobre 2023, est un diamant brut qui approfondit son univers vertigineux avec des sonorités plus tranchantes. Sa voix provenant d’un univers lointain s’exprime dans une langue qui nous est inconnue, changeant de rythme de manière déconcertante.

Inspirée tant par les compositions avant-garde du 20e siècle que par les chants folkloriques, Marina Herlop combine les techniques traditionnelles au son mélancolique du piano pour former un univers semblant provenir d’une autre galaxie. Ses lignes vocales délicates, sublimées par des effets de production subtiles, apportent une intensité émotionnelle à cette musique cathartique.

Marina Herlop - abans abans
Marina Herlop : "Miu", "Abans Abans", "Shaolin Mantis" - Eurosonic Noorderslag 2023 - @arteconcert
Lucinda Chua

LUCINDA CHUA

Après deux EP, Lucinda Chua revient avec « YIAN », son premier album d’un minimalisme millimétré. A travers des compositions d’une douceur réconfortante, l’artiste violoncelliste invite l’auditeur à prendre part à un voyage contemplatif. Sa voix mêlée à d’intenses silences et à ses respirations maîtrisées tissent ensemble une toile sonore tant sincère et intime qu’elle nous plonge directement dans une atmosphère introspective et enchantée.

Tant l’esthétique visuelle que le titre de l’album approfondissent cette proximité, YIAN étant la traduction chinoise pour « hirondelle », le surnom donné à Lucinda par ses parents pour préserver un lien avec son héritage ancestral. Tout comme l’oiseau migrateur, l’artiste a voyagé périodiquement entre différentes régions qui ont contribué à créer son identité métissée. A travers ses compositions, Lucinda Chua exprime cette partie d’elle-même qu’elle ne peut décrire par des mots.

Lucinda Chua - An Ocean
Lucinda Chua: Hub Sessions

Similar events

Samedi
30
Mar 2024
sten_x_botanique.j

Portes

18:30

  • Orangerie + Rotonde + Witloof Bar
Mercredi
10
avr 2024
Julia Holter
experimental, singer-songwriter

Portes

19:30

  • Orangerie
Mardi
26
mars 2024
DAY OF SHOW 28.5
TICKET 25.5
BOTACARTE 22.5
Achetez vos tickets

Plus d'info

Tickets en vente : 05/12