J.E. SUNDE - JAWHAR

singer-songwriter
Tuesday
24
October 2023
  • Rotonde
19:30
Day of Show 19
Ticket 16
Bota'Carte 13
Buy tickets

Extra information

19:30 Doors open (Rotonde)
20:00 Jawhar
21:00 J.E. Sunde

When

Tue. 24 Oct, 2023

Where

  • Rotonde

Doors

19:30

Organiser

Nada Booking & Botanique
J.E. Sunde
"J.E. Sunde est de retour avec un nouvel album remarquablement interprété"

J.E Sunde (Jonathan Edward Sunde), a songwriter based in Minneapolis, MN USA, will be releasing his fourth album, “Alice, Gloria and Jon” on June 16, 2023. Lyrically, the songs explore the strange and surprising experience of being an adult over arrangements centered around groove and the combination of synthesizers and acoustic instruments.

Recorded in Eau Claire, WI at the Bungaleau by J.E Sunde’s longtime collaborator, Shane Leonard, the two endeavored to create a songwriter record drawing influence from krautrock, JJ Cale, and 80s synth pop. After a flurry of smaller collaborative releases in 2021 that explored a wide range of musical styles, “Alice, Gloria and Jon” will be J.E Sunde’s first full length release since 2020’s “9 Songs About Love.”

Stop Caring - J.E Sunde
Sunset Strip - J.E. Sunde (funk cover ft. J.E. Sunde + Theo Katzman)
Jawhar

JAWHAR

Jawhar has created his own signature style of Arabic folk-pop music that one could probably describe as midway between Arab chaâbi and Nick Drake’s dreamy folk lullabies. After “When Rainbows call, My Rainbows fly”, his first album hailed by the press as a « mind-blowing debut by a song-writing prodigy » (Les Inrockuptibles, FR).

In addition to a growing love for a certain Nick Drake who will draw him irrevocably to impressionist folk music. Subsequently he writes his first songs and plays his first concerts. He then performs solo opening acts for artists such as Susheela Raman, Boubacar Traore or Keziah Jones. Shortly after the Belgian release of his first album, Jawhar and Belgium adopt one another.

Tasweerah (62TV/PIAS - march 2022) is the fourth album of Jawhar. The album is a series of freeze-frames of more or less personal portraits. The songs are, each in their own way, attempts towards a universal portrait of the artist. They question his place and that of imagination in society, placing “creation and the quest for beauty” at the center of the album. Voluntarily raw, Tasweerah takes us back into the folk / pop “clair-obscure” of Jawhar, proclaimed in the category Arabic Dream Pop.

Jawhar - Dima Maak
Tuesday
24
October 2023
Day of Show 19
Ticket 16
Bota'Carte 13
Buy tickets

Extra information

19:30 Doors open (Rotonde)
20:00 Jawhar
21:00 J.E. Sunde

Partners

J.E. SUNDE - JAWHAR

singer-songwriter
Mardi
24
octobre 2023
  • Rotonde
19:30
DAY OF SHOW 19
TICKET 16
BOTACARTE 13
Achetez vos tickets

Plus d'info

19:30 Doors open (Rotonde)
20:00 Jawhar
21:00 J.E. Sunde

Une écriture travaillée sur des instrumentales tantôt folk et intimistes, tantôt groovy

Quand

mar. 24 oct, 2023

  • Rotonde

Portes

19:30

Organisation

Nada Booking & Botanique
J.E. Sunde
"J.E. Sunde est de retour avec un nouvel album remarquablement interprété"

J.E Sunde (Jonathan Edward Sunde), auteur-compositeur basé à Minneapolis, sortira son quatrième album, "Alice, Gloria and Jon" le 16 juin 2023. Lyriquement, les chansons explorent l'expérience étrange et surprenante d'être un adulte. Mélodiquement, des arrangements centrés sur le groove côtoient la combinaison de synthétiseurs et d'instruments acoustiques.

Enregistré à Eau Claire dans un bungalow par le collaborateur de longue date de J.E Sunde, Shane Leonard, cet album s’inspire du krautrock, de JJ Cale et de la synth pop des années 80. Après une série de sorties collaboratives en 2021 qui ont exploré un large éventail de styles musicaux, "Alice, Gloria and Jon" est la première sortie long format de J.E Sunde depuis "9 Songs About Love" en 2020.

Stop Caring - J.E Sunde
Sunset Strip - J.E. Sunde (funk cover ft. J.E. Sunde + Theo Katzman)
Jawhar

JAWHAR

Né d’une mère professeure de littérature arabe éprise de musique et de poésie, et d’un père qui se consacre au théâtre puis à la politique culturelle, Jawhar grandit dans la banlieue au sud de Tunis, à Radès. Très tôt il est fasciné par une certaine culture populaire, par la force de ses images et de ses expressions verbales, musicales et gestuelles.

Il enregistre son premier album qui sortira en autoproduction avant de ressortir officiellement via le label bruxellois Top5 Records. «When Rainbows Call my Rainbows Fly» est salué par la presse comme «un soufflant premier album d’un prodige du song-writing». (Les Inrockuptibles, FR). Depuis, la Belgique et lui s’adoptent mutuellement.

Tasweerah (62TV/PIAS - mars 2022) est son quatrième album. Il présente une série d’arrêts sur image, de portraits plus ou moins personnels. Les chansons sont, chacune à leur manière, des tentatives vers un portrait universel de l’artiste. Elles questionnent sa place et celle de l’imaginaire dans la société, posent « la création et la quête de la beauté » au centre de l’album. Volontairement brut et sans artifice, Tasweerah nous replonge dans la folk / pop claire-obscure de Jawhar, proclamé dans la catégorie Arabic Dream Pop.

Jawhar - Dima Maak
Mardi
24
octobre 2023
DAY OF SHOW 19
TICKET 16
BOTACARTE 13
Achetez vos tickets

Plus d'info

19:30 Doors open (Rotonde)
20:00 Jawhar
21:00 J.E. Sunde

Partenaires