You are here

Röyksopp is an music duo formed in 1998 at Tromsø, Norway, by Torbjørn Brundtland and Svein Berge. The band is currently based in Bergen, Norway. The Norwegian word “røyksopp” means puffball fungus (literally “smoke mushroom”).

Brundtland and Berge were schoolmates in their hometown, Tromsø, experimenting with electronic instruments in the early 1990s, being a part of the Tromsø techno scene. They were members of various electro acts in their youth, such as Aedena Cycle, Alanïa and Drum Island.

Read more… // Botanique is not responsible for the content of this text.